County of Alameda

About County of Alameda

One of 58 counties in California, Alameda County is home to over 1.5 million people living in 14 incorporated cities as well as in six unincorporated communities and rural areas throughout the 813 square miles of the County.

The County enjoys a varied geography ranging from urban marinas to rolling open spaces to hillside lakes and streams. Characterized by rich diversity and culture, Alameda County takes pride in being one of the most ethnically diverse regions in the Bay Area and the nation.

Alameda County provides essential community services including health care, social services, public protection, and general government programs provided to the citizens by more than 9,000 employees working in 21 different agencies and departments.

If you have talent, are searching for a great place to work, and are committed to serving the public, check out our wide range of career opportunities to make a real difference in your community at:!


Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Dublin, Emeryville, Fremont, Hayward, Livermore, Newark, Oakland, Piedmont, Pleasanton, San Leandro, and Union City.

Ashland, Castro Valley, Cherryland, Fairview, San Lorenzo, and Sunol.


Payroll Support Intern

July 2019 Oakland, CA
“I enjoyed the events that were scheduled for all the interns to learn more about Board of Supervisor meetings, get to learn about County benefits, etc. But I enjoyed meeting the other interns as well as networking with current employees to get their personal insight. It was really organized in terms of what my daily tasks were every other week since there is a timeline with one week being timekeeping week and the other week is pay week. It was great that there was always someone I could ask for help when I was not quite sure of how to complete some tasks so that says a lot about the culture in the workplace that everyone is supportive and willing to help each other out to complete tasks.”
See All