Dallas Stars

About Dallas Stars

The Dallas Stars are a professional ice hockey team located in Dallas, Texas, that play as a member in the 30-team National Hockey League (NHL). Founded in 1967 as the Minnesota North Stars, the team moved to Dallas in 1993 under then-owner, Norm Green. Since then, the club has made 14 playoff appearances, won seven division titles, captured two Presidents’ Trophies, and won the 1999 Stanley Cup. They are also one of four organizations in all of professional sports who currently have at least 16 consecutive seasons registering a .500 record or better (San Antonio Spurs, NBA; Detroit Red Wings, NHL; New York Yankees, MLB).

The team has made it an organizational priority to expose the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex to hockey and has done so by constructing and operating several Dr Pepper StarCenters throughout the area. When the team first set foot in Texas, there were five total sheets of ice in the area (two of which were in shopping malls and did not host hockey). There were about 500 local children and adults playing in recreational leagues and no high school or traveling hockey teams. Today, there are more than 8,000 recreational hockey players on 24 sheets of ice in the area, including over 50 high school hockey teams.

The team is currently owned by Tom Gaglardi and has its headquarters in Frisco, Texas. Jim Lites serves as president, with Jim Nill as its general manager.


Sales Intern

January 2013 - May 2013 Frisco, TX
“I really enjoyed the people and the environment. I learned a lot about hard work and communication. This is a stepping stone into your future of working in the sports industry.”
See All