https://gopeer.org

GoPeer, Inc.

Tutor

April 2022 • New York City, NY

What I liked

I loved the flexibility and ease of scheduling

What I wish was different

I would have like to tutor in more high level subjects rather

Advice

Plan a lesson before starting any sessions with your students
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

October 2020 • Moraga, CA

What I liked

I really like GoPeer's user interface. They have a great online classroom for the student and tutor to use. The dashboard screen is also very easy to maneuver. In my experience, their support team has been great and very responsive! GoPeer also allows your schedule to be flexible which is great for me as a college student.

What I wish was different

I wish that there was a different way to meet new students. Students must reach out to a tutor first which limits how much exposure you can get as a tutor profile. I also wish that clients would let you know that they do not wish to use you as a tutor after their initial reaching out. Recently, I had over 20 potential clients reach out to me and I responded very quickly and sent multiple messages yet none responded. This is not an issue with GoPeer at all, just something I wish clients would do because it's very discouraging when you receive so many requests and no one responds further. I also wish that the free first session option was implemented differently. I think it would be great to continue to offer free first sessions but with a time limit of 15 minutes or so. I don't think that it would make sense to give someone an entire hour free when they are not obligated to continue meeting with that tutor.

Advice

I would advise other tutors to respond to every single client that messages you and to respond as quickly as you can. Also, check out the online classroom before your first session so you can get a feel for it and learn about all of the great features it has!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

October 2020 • Silver Spring, MD

What I liked

I love the online classroom -- there's plenty of useful tools that make online tutoring almost as easy as it is in person. I also really like that GoPeer doesn't take any commission fees or anything like that, and all the money I make goes straight to me. The overall UI is really sleek and easy-to-use for scheduling, uploading files, and talking with clients. This was my first experience as a formal tutor, and I couldn't have asked for a better company to start with.

What I wish was different

The support team was also spotty sometimes -- it took a while to get the payment system sorted out because they never responded to some of my messages. Prioritizing tutors who give free first lessons can also be slightly annoying, since some people request full sessions for their first session, which means I do an hour of work for free. Those are small critiques though, and GoPeer really is a great system.

Advice

Don't get discouraged about how hard it can be to get clients when you're first starting out. My first few clients were one-off sessions, but once you snag some regular clients, life gets really easy again. If you have any free time at all, I'd highly recommend checking GoPeer out.
1 One person found this helpful

Tutor

November 2020 • Carson City, NV

What I liked

It was very flexible and payed well.

What I wish was different

The technology was a bit unfinished and could have used more polish.

Advice

Teaching online is very difficult and requires preparation.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

May 2020 • Providence, RI

What I liked

I have really enjoyed working with GoPeer ever since I joined back in May. When I initially signed up, I was looking for something with very flexible hours as I was about to begin a summer course that would require much of my time. GoPeer ended up being a perfect fit as it allows you to create a very flexible schedule that works for you. During the summer, I gradually started to tutor more and more kids and I genuinely looked forward to working with them every week! Sessions usually ranged from 45 minutes to an hour, and the online classroom platform that GoPeer provides has great features to help kids in a variety of ways.

What I wish was different

During the summer, especially with kids not being in school, I found myself devoting a decent amount of time outside of the actual sessions to come up with lesson plans and content for us to work on. There is no way to log the additional time put in for lesson planning, but as I became more comfortable with the students and informed on areas they needed help in, this planning became much easier and didn't actually take that much time. Overall however, the experience has been great and a lot easier when kids returned to school and had actual material/content that they needed help in.

Advice

My one piece of advice would be: don't worry at first if you feel like not many people are reaching out to you for help. Before you know it, you will probably have more requests than you might be able to handle. Also, make sure to adjust your availability calendar so that the GoPeer tutoring experience works best for you!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

September 2017 • Providence, RI

What I liked

- love the flexibility of working around my own schedule - GoPeer community is great and very open to feedback - Ethan, other founders, and those working on the technology side provide a lot of great support in terms of following up with clients, advocating for tutor needs, etc. - concept is great and seems to be generally accessible to people all over the country and the world - friendly and accommodating as tutors can build long-lasting relationships with clients

What I wish was different

- starting out can be difficult since clients reach out to tutors - would be nice if there was an option to somehow reach out to more clients (however, individual tutors can share their gopeer profiles and win incentives if they post on social media and refer others to try out the platform) - technology can be difficult for working with students of younger ages even though there are great tech support and video tutorials

Advice

sometimes the process can be slow to build a solid group of clients, but stick with it and really try to grow your personal relationships, rather than just "teach," since the most helpful support is the kind of environment you foster with the kids
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

March 2020 • Atlanta, GA

What I liked

I enjoy the opportunity to play a small part in improving students' writing ability. Every academic subject––and life itself––requires the ability to communicate effectively. Helping middle and high schoolers understand the function of grammar, essay organization, and clarity can boost their ability to excel in all of their courses. It is pure magic to watch a student catch comma mistakes before I do or grow increasingly comfortable asking questions. The world feels like an incrementally better place each time a student's academic improvement becomes evident. It's an honor to be able to contribute to their education.

What I wish was different

Questions posed to the help team are not always answered in a timely manner. However, a few of my frequent, initial concerns have gradually become obsolete. For instance, billing students for sessions that ended early or started late used to take a significant amount of back-and-forth to fix, as the session time did not reflect the actual lesson length. In response, a few weeks ago, GoPeer created a function that allows tutor to adjust the session time manually. It was wonderful to see problems inform the development of new features on the website!

Advice

Don't talk yourself out of feeling qualified. My first hour of GoPeer tutoring was my first time tutoring...ever! During my first few sessions, I felt that I wasn't experienced enough for the position, even though I was invested in the students' progress and comfortable with the information I taught. Now, after 75 sessions, I can safely say that if you care about the students and are knowledgable in your subject area, you're all set!
4 ${count} people found this helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

November 2020 • East Lansing, MI

What I liked

I have tutored through companies in the past, but GoPeer has been my favorite by far. The staff at GoPeer is phenomenal. They respond quickly and give sufficient information to make sure your problem is taken care of. The website itself is very very user friendly, and it is very easy to communicate with your students. I love how they also have an app because it makes it easier to respond when you are on the go! One thing that stands out about GoPeer is the way they care about not only their students, but their tutors as well. Sometimes companies only focus on the students, but this is not the case. GoPeer guarantees that everything you earn is yours, and they are very clear with their intentions. I love working for this company! They are awesome!

What I wish was different

I love everything about this company, but initially it is hard to build a consistent relationship with students. It took me some time, but now I love my students and have gotten to know them well! Although it can be hard, be consistent because it is worth having student-tutor relationships in the end!

Advice

My biggest piece of advice would be to be patient! Students are trying to navigate their way around difficult subjects, so be patient and help them the best you can. I think developing relationships with my students has been so rewarding, and I wouldn't trade it for anything!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

March 2020 • Nashville, TN

What I liked

I love the flexible schedule! GoPeer makes it easy to pick up shifts whenever you are available which is perfect for a busy college schedule. It was also nice to have the variety of different subjects listed. I did not feel like I was confined to one area of study which meant I had more session requests from students and I was able to figure out which subjects were my favorites to teach. The GoPeer support team is also very responsive to questions and suggestions. There were a few instances where I had a technical question in the middle of a session and they responded almost immediately to help me out!

What I wish was different

Advice

Make sure you check out the online classroom ahead of time! It is a great resource and there are a lot of different tools available so it is a little difficult to keep track of all of them at first. If you go into the classroom before your first session, it will be a breeze!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

April 2020 • Boston, MA

What I liked

GoPeer's onboarding process was very quick and informative. GoPeer has a really innovative virtual classroom that facilitates the online learning process. The company is committed to constantly improving its platform by overhauling the user dashboard, pricing model, and virtual classroom. They do a great job of soliciting and listening to feedback. Additionally, GoPeer rapidly expanded its user base recently, providing opportunities for new tutors to gain a greater client base. Working for GoPeer has been great because their pricing scheme makes tutors fairly accessible for most families. The company constantly provides tips for how tutors can maximize their GoPeer experience. Lastly, GoPeer does a good job of creating video tutorials and article walkthroughs that demonstrate how to use the platform for both students and tutors.

What I wish was different

Students rate tutors and those ratings and reviews then become visible to other students searching for a tutor. Tutors can rate students, but it's unclear where that rating goes. Tutors can't see the ratings given to students by other tutors. Sometimes, students can be very abrasive and because they rate you as a tutor, it feels like there is an obligation to make them happy rather than being able to end an uncomfortable lesson.

Advice

Being responsive is very helpful in securing tutoring jobs! Additionally, meeting the student on their level of understanding and relating to their interests is essential to retaining clients.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Online Peer Tutor

August 2020 • Nashville, TN

What I liked

I like that GoPeer is a job that lets me set my own hours. As a college student, my class schedule is sometimes hard to work around for other part-time jobs during the school year. With GoPeer, I have the freedom to schedule sessions with students when I am free. The messaging interface with GoPeer is also easy to use. They just created an app, so I can now message students and set up sessions from my phone, which is great. It's also nice that I can set my tutoring profile to invisible if I am too busy for the week or feel like I have enough consistent students to not need any more sessions. This further increases my control over my own schedule. GoPeer also translates between time zones very easily, which is great for communication when scheduling sessions.

What I wish was different

I do wish there was a way to log time outside of actual tutoring. I tutor the ACT, which requires me to take the ACT tests before I meet with the student. It is typical for me to spent about 15 minutes outside of a tutoring session to prepare for it, which means I'm making $20 for 75 minutes of work, and I am very happy with that. When I start hitting $20 for 1.5-2 hours of work, sometimes it's a little frustrating. Since GoPeer doesn't have the option to add time, it's uncomfortable to ask a student to pay a little more for your extra time.

Advice

Don't expect to be contacted about tutoring too fast! It took a couple weeks for me to be contacted to tutor, and after that it took having that student three or four times before I had enough reviews to attract new students. Also, it's much easier to tutor a topic I haven't looked at in awhile if the student sends me any information they have from their teacher or their homework before the session starts. This way, I can review a topic before trying to teach it.
1 One person found this helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

February 2020 • Boulder, CO

What I liked

GoPeer has been a great job! I started this job right before quarantine and it has been my main source of income since the beginning of the pandemic. I love that I can stay safe. I also love how flexible my schedule is. I can choose my own hours around my classes and other commitments. They pay tutors $20 per hour which is a decent amount--especially because you are working from home. For anyone who plans on becoming a teacher, this is an excellent t job! It allows you to teach many different subjects to many different ages.

What I wish was different

When I first started working for this company, they charged students seeking tutors between $25-$35 per hour depending on their payment plan. Now, they charge students seeking tutoring $20 per hour plus an annual or monthly fee. I feel like if I were to start my own business, I would be making much more money. The only reason I haven't left GoPeer to work on my own is because GoPeer's online classroom is incredibly useful and I'm not sure how I would emulate that on my own.

Advice

If you start this job, try to get about five students in subjects that you're very comfortable with. Five students is enough to make a good amount of money and decide if you like tutoring, but not too many that scheduling becomes difficult. More students will come as soon as you start getting good reviews from these first students.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

September 2020 • West Lafayette, IN

What I liked

I love working with GoPeer! As a college student in education during the unpredictable COVID times, GoPeer provides me with not only education experience, but also connections with others. I love that I can tutor students in elementary school all the way to high school, extending my prior experience level from elementary to older students. Each student that I tutor is so special to me! I never thought that online tutoring sessions with students hundreds of miles away from me would be capable of creating such important, lasting connections, but it's done just that. As I teach them and help them with their work, they teach me how to be a better teacher, as well as a better individual. I love the impact GoPeer has on the students and the tutors - it's absolutely incredible! One of the other things I love most about GoPeer is the flexibility. I can schedule sessions at any time and make changes as needed. If I have student teaching meetings for my university or a lunch out with friends, I can adjust my tutoring availability as needed. It's flexible, but also constant and reliable. Even though my sessions can change times weekly to accommodate schedules, it's become a reliable income for me. I get paid more than I've ever gotten paid for a job in education and it's literally just me doing what I love while sitting at home!

What I wish was different

Since students have to reach out to the tutors for the first interaction, it may be hard to start building a student base and scheduling regular sessions at first. However, once you get started and become a more successful tutor, you can only grow from there:)

Advice

I would highly recommend GoPeer to any college student, whether they have two extra hours a week to work or twenty! One piece of advice I have is to not overwhelm yourself. Since you create your own schedule and control your own hours, you might get carried away and overbook yourself! Even though the opportunity is there, the student is reaching out to you, you're allowed to ask for a different day or make a schedule change so you're not overwhelmed!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

March 2020 • Boston, MA

What I liked

I really liked having the independence to work as much or as little as I wanted. It helped me stay sharp throughout the pandemic and I enjoyed fostering connections with each of my students.

What I wish was different

I wish there was a way for tutors in similar subjects to communicate with each other. It may be helpful to hear how other people are tutoring certain subjects that may be more challenging than others to do online.

Advice

I would say that you have to be energetic and organized in order to be successful as an online tutor. Depending on the subject there may be some prep time required ahead of time and you need to be able to manage your time well.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

October 2020 • Lewisburg, PA

What I liked

I appreciate how flexible the hours are in this job. I communicate with parents directly to find times that work well for both of us. I like that I can choose which subjects and age groups to tutor. Payments are automatic and prompt, which I really appreciate as well. The GoPeer team communicates frequently and answers questions in a timely manner.

What I wish was different

I am torn about the free first sessions. I understand why this would be appealing to parents, but it can also be frustrating to tutors. I receive and accept many tutoring requests from parents. Despite sending solid initial messages, I don’t get a response back the majority of the time. This process can be somewhat discouraging.

Advice

Frequent and timely communication with parents is essential to this job. During the first couple weeks, I didn’t have many tutoring sessions. If you keep at it though, you’re likely to find many more long term clients.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

June 2017 • Austin, TX

What I liked

-Easy way to help students -Good technology to connect with students -Easy to share files with students to explain concepts -Whiteboard and drawing capabilities are nice -Good ability to tutor in multiple subjects of your choosing

What I wish was different

So far nothing!

Advice

I would advise people to try it out because it feels great to know that you are helping others learn.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

March 2020 • Washington, DC

What I liked

I appreciated the fact that I was able to pick my hours. Especially for a college student, its really convenient to be able to schedule sessions in accordance with your own class schedule. GoPeer is also great in that the virtual aspect allows us to work with people all over the country.

What I wish was different

I wish that there had been ways to ask for clients more sporadically. With GoPeer it is all about fostering connections with students, but I wish they had the opportunity for the tutorees to request a one time session if they just wanted help with some homework.

Advice

It is really important to be open to different types of learning styles and experiences. You want to foster connections with the kids you are tutoring which means that you have to be open to adapting to how they want to learn and also to seeing what helps them the most.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

GoPeer Online Peer Tutor

December 2019 • Sacramento, CA

What I liked

I really enjoyed working with K-12 students and how responsive GoPeer was with any of our concerns or technical difficulties. There are always improvements being made and the tutor team is able to communicate with one another through Slack, allowing us to share any tips we have for one another in working with students. Specifically, I enjoy working with GoPeer because of their excellent reply times with any of our concerns.

What I wish was different

The GoPeer classroom is a bit more difficult to use, especially since it is different from what parents and students have been used to on other applications so one thing I would change about GoPeer is the options provided in the classroom. However, the GoPeer team is constantly taking suggestions and working towards building a more effective classroom.

Advice

I joined GoPeer hoping to work with students immediately but since I joined relatively early during their launch, I struggled with connecting with students. However, I didn't give up and continued to update my profile and availability, allowing me to work with a greater variety of students in many different areas of study. My advice would definitely be to continue working with GoPeer, even if you don't have immediate results. It really is worth it and working with students has allowed me to continued to foster my interest in education.
Be the first to mark this as helpful